About Us
Coach Education
County Boys
Girls Cricket
League 2019
Shield 2019


       Shield 2018Shield 2017 Shield 2016Shield 2015  

   Honours    RulesConditions


Youth Cricket Shield & Plate 2019

The Monmouthshire Building Society Youth Cricket Shield competition is entering its twenty-first year. Following the introduction of a Plate competition, for first-round losers last year, the number of teams entering the competition tis year has risen from 37 to 52, an increase of 40 per cent, over the last two years.  Last year saw some 150 young people from ten clubs play in one of six finals.  The end-of-season Shield Finals Day is always a popular and well-attended event while the individual Plate finals were also well attended.  This competition is a straight knockout played in a twenty over format based on the adult game.

Youth Cricket Shield Finals Day

 Under 11 Final - Newport CC V Chepstow CC


                                                                                               Winners - Newport CC                                                                                              


    Runners-Up - Chepstow CC

This year's Monmouthshire Building Youth Cricket Shield Finals day was held at Newport CC and started off with the Under 11 Final between Newport and Chepstow.  They won the toss and asked their opponents to bat first. Newport were soon reeling at 14 for 3 thanks to an inspired piece of bowling by Mariam Sahabdeen who took all three wickets in just ten balls. She clean bowled two and one was a catch by Edward Hillman.   Jacob Protheroe then joined Jak Cosker and they set about repairing the damage and were so successful that they put together a partnership of 86 runs before Protheroe was caught by Bruno Chitnis off the bowling of Toby Smith for40 runs. Tegwyn Mahoney then contributed 11 runs to an unbeaten partnership of 31 and Cosker finished unbeaten on 49 with 20 runs coming in the last two overs. At the end of their 20 overs Newport had scored 131 for 4.

In reply, Chepstow struggled to come to terms with the threats posed by the Newport attack and lost wickets at regular intervals.  The wickets were shared around the bowlers with Harry Wallace taking two, Mahoney, Harrison Allin and Stephen Skarsten one apiece.  However, the stand-out performance was by Cosker who took 4 for 17 as well as taking a catch and a run out.  Chepstow were all out for 63 making Newport worthy champions.

In light of his outstanding performance with bat and ball the Macey Sports Player of the Match award went to Jak Cosker.

Under 13 Final - Llanarth CC v Newport CC


                                                                                                     Winners - Newport CC                                                                                       


            Runners-Up - Llanarth CC

The next match was the Under 13 Final between Llanarth CC and Newport CC and, after winning the toss, Llanarth elected to bat.  They came up against a determined Newport attack and were 4 wickets down for 8 runs in the fifth over.  Jack Hope-Bell took 3 wickets for 3 runs in his 4-over spell and Rahil Idris 1 for 8 and they were assisted by catches taken by Abhijeet Ashokkumar and George Thomas.  Tommy Chubb put up some resistance in a partnership with Lawrence Johnson which doubled the score.  Chubb was out for 10 runs, the first of four victims of Tegwyn Mahoney, who then took the next three wickets and Llanarth were reduced to 29 for 8.  The remaining wickets were taken by Noah Rice, assisted by a fine Hope-Bell catch, and Jac Cosker who got his with his first, and last, ball of the match as the Llanarth innings had closed on a total of 35.  For Llanarth, Johnson carried his bat for 8 as he watched six of his colleagues depart the crease. 

There were no such problems for Newport as they cruised to victory in the fifth over thanks to openers Rice (23no) and Idris (11no). 

In recognition of his match –winning spell of bowling, the Macey Sports Player of the Match award went to Tegwyn Mahoney.

Under 15 Final - Newport CC v Sudbrook CC


                                                                                  Winners - Newport CC                                                                            

            Runners-Up - Sudbrook CC

In the third and final match of the day, Newport CC faced Sudbrook CC in the Under 15 Final.  Newport won the toss and put their opponents in to bat. The Sudbrook openers, Evan Cadwallader and Ben Day, got off to a steady start and the team had reached 42 without losing a wicket in the ninth over.  However, the introduction of Sophia Smale into the attack brought immediate results with her taking the wicket of Day for 13. She followed this up three overs later with the wicket of Cadwallader for 25. 

Sudbrook were now 64 for 2 and, with six overs left, were looking to raise their scoring rate but, in doing so, wickets began to fall.  There was a run out by Noah Rice followed by a double-wicket maiden by Smale and Sudbrook were reeling on 71 for 5.  However, an enterprising partnership between Toby Palmer (14no) and George Lloyd (19) saw 31 come off the last six overs.  Lloyd was run out off the last ball by Abhijeet Ashokkumar leaving Sudbrook with a final total of 102 for 6.  Smale finished with figures of 4 wickets for 14 runs in her 4 overs.

In reply, the Newport openers, Sam Protheroe and Hugo Caldicott, got off to a run-a-ball start before Caldicott was out, to a fine Cadwallader catch on the boundary off the bowling of Day, for 19.  Protheroe was then bowled, in the following over, by Oliver Russ leaving Newport on 34 for 2 after five overs and Sudbrook still in the game.  This brought Oscar Rice to join Sophia Smale at the crease and they set about scoring a match-winning partnership.  They put on 47 runs together before Rice was bowled by Harvey Heaven for 25.  Ethan Oliver (12no) then joined Smale and they put on the required 22 runs to claim the Shield for Newport in the fifteenth over.  Smale finished unbeaten on 26.

In recognition of her match –winning performance with bat and ball, the Macey Sports Player of the Match award went to Sophia Smale.


TopHome  Archive