About Us
Coach Education
County Boys
Girls Cricket
League 2019
Shield 2019



Squad List 2010

Ryan Avery (Croesyceiliog),  David Clarke (Pontnewynydd), Robert Clarke (Newport), Matthew Hancock (Monkswood), Krishnan Hariharan (Newport), Aadam Hassan (Malpas), Adil Hassan (Malpas), Sion Hayward (Abergavenny), Sam Hope-Bell (Newport), Lewys Jones (Chepstow), Joshua Kunz (Ponthir), Thomas Lynbeck (Newport), Georgia Parfitt (Croesyceiliog), Dylan Scarborough (Croesyceiliog), William Smale (Newport), Dewi Thomas (Machen), Roddy Thomas (Ebbw Vale), Jack Turner (Monkswood)

Aberystwyth Festival Squad

Aberystwyth Festival Squad

Match Report Summary 2010








Cardiff & Vale

137 for 5




138 for 5



Gwent won by

 5 wkts

Cardiff batted first on a good wicket and reached 137-5 in their 30 overs Lewys Jones was the pick of the Gwent bowlers with 1-4 off 3 overs while Robert Clarke, William Smale, Sion Hayward and Jack Turner also  took a wicket apiece.  They were well supported by a good fielding performance, with a William Smale catch and a direct-hit run out by Dewi Thomas being the highlights.

In reply Gwent batted very solidly all the way through the innings with Sam Hope-Bell, Ryan Avery and Lewys Jones getting into the twenties and Robbie Clarke, Matthew Hancock and Roddy Thomas also reaching double figures. Gwent reached their target with 2.4 overs to spare.

Best Performances: Sam Hope-Bell 28, Ryan Avery 26, Lewis Jones 24


West Glamorgan

89 for 3


86 all out


West Glamorgan

won by 7 wkts

Gwent batted first and scored 86 in only 18 overs. Unfortunately, they also lost all 10 wickets during that time.  Robert Clarke top-scored with 22 and only Sam Hope-Bell and Lewys Jones also made it into double figures.

In reply Gwent bowled poorly and West Glam easily reached their target in only 9.3 overs with Greg Thomas' 52 not out including  eleven  boundaries.  Aadam Hassan was the pick of the bowlers and he and Matthew Hancock both made a run out.

Best Performance:  Robert Clarke 22




84 all out




141 for 8



Gwent won by

57 runs

Gwent batted first and reached a creditable 141-8 off 35 overs with Lewys Jones getting a very quick 32 (off 21 balls) and Ryan Avery anchoring the innings with 31 not out.  William Smale, Sam Hope-Bell and Robbie Clarke also got into double figures.

In reply Carmarthenshire struggled right from the start, with all the Gwent bowlers performing very well, and were all out with six overs to spare.  The wickets were spread around five bowlers and Dewi Thomas and Robert Clarke both made run outs.

Best Performances: Ryan Avery 31no, Lewys Jones 32.  Robert Clarke 2-2,Thomas Lynbeck 2-1, Lewys Jones 2-2, Dewi Thomas and Aadam Hassan took one wicket each.




118 all out





124 for 6



Gwent won by

6 runs

Gwent were put into bat first and were tied down at the start by good Hereford bowling.   The openers stuck to their task and saw off the new ball with Ryan Avery making a solid 34 and Lewys Jones getting 38 off 41 balls. Gwent finished on a respectable 124-6 off 30 overs.

Hereford lost wickets at regular intervals in reply and were 68-7 off 15 overs at the drinks break with Aadam Hassan taking 3 wickets and Roddy Thomas 2 in 2 balls. Two spirited partnerships nearly won the game for Hereford who just fell 6 runs short after a fine run out by Matthew Hancock.

Best Performances: Aadam Hassan 4-19, Lewys Jones 38, Ryan Avery 34,  Roddy Thomas 2-13, Thomas Lynbeck, Adil Hassan and Dewi Thomas each took one wicket.




West Glamorgan  

136 for 9






135 for 6




West Glamorgan won by 1 wkt 

Gwent won the toss and elected to bat and got off to a great start with 30 being scored off seven overs but then lost 3 wickets in two overs to slow down the run rate. Nevertheless, Robbie Clarke joined Sam Hope-Bell, who went on to make a fifty, and the runs began to flow again and Gwent finished on a creditable 135-6.

In reply West Glam had the worst possible start with Dewi Thomas  bowling a wicket maiden in the first over.  They then progressed steadily until  the introduction of skipper Robbie Clarke who took a hat-trick in his first over. However, it was 9 year-old Nathan Lee who won the game for West Glam, by the closest of margins, with a superb battling 34 not out

Best Performances:  Robert Clarke 31 & 4-9, Sam Hope-Bell 54, Dewi Thomas 2-11, Aadam Hassan, Matthew Hancock and Roddy Thomas each took one wicket.



68 for 1



67 all out



won by 9 wkts

Gwent were asked to bat first by a very strong Devon side and all the batsmen struggled against very good line and length bowling. Only opener Ryan Avery made any impression and Gwent were bowled out for 67 in 29 overs.  Gwent only had one success when Devon batted and that was a run out as Devon reached their target of 68 in 16 overs. 

This was a steep learning curve for a Gwent team with four players still under nine but they gave their all against a much more experienced opposition.

Best Performance: Ryan Avery 19




186 for 9




102 all out



Berkshire won

 by 84 runs

Berkshire won the toss and batted first but some some tight bowling and spirited fielding by Gwent reduced them to 75 – 5 off 20 overs. They recovered well through an eighth wicket partnership of 76 to reach a very competitive total of 186-9 off 35 overs.

In reply Gwent got off to a great start with Sam Hope-Bell and Matthew Hancock putting on 50 for the first wicket in only 9 overs. Good bowling by Berkshire, plus some poor strokes by some of the following Gwent batsmen, led to them being bowled out in 25 overs.

Best Performances:Sam Hope-Bell  36, Dewi Thomas 2-12, Josh Kunz 2-25, Thomas Lynbeck 1-6



152 for 6




83 all out



Wiltshire won

by 69 runs

Wiltshire were put into bat and this was justified when Gwent reduced them to 36-4 off 9 overs. However, a fifth wicket partnership of 70 in the next 18 overs turned it around and Wiltshire finally finished on 152-6 off their 35 overs.  Aadam Hassan and Robbie Clarke bowled well, each taking two wickets, with Matthew Hancock and Lewys Jones taking one apiece.

In reply, Gwent got off to a disastrous start being reduced to 15-4 off only 6 overs and never recovered and were bowled out for only 83 in 29.5 overs. Ryan Avery, Jack Turner and Georgia Parfitt battled hard in adversity but the Wiltshire bowlers proved too strong in the end.

Best Performances: Aadam Hassan 2-8, Robbie Clarke 2-14, Jack Turner 16,  Ryan Avery 15, Georgia Parfitt 14



75 for 4




73 all out


Dorset won by

 6 wickets

Gwent batted first on a wicket of variable bounce and struggled against some very accurate Dorset bowling. Only Ryan Avery and Lewis Jones made double figures and Gwent were bowled out for only 73.

This was always going to be very hard total to defend but Gwent stuck to the task admirably taking 4 Dorset wickets before the end.

Best Performances: Aadam Hassan 1-5, Adil Hassan 1-5, Dewi Thomas 1-7 and a catch, Jack Turner 1-10, Ryan Avery 11, Lewis Jones 11

Cardiff & Vale

158 for 6



88 all out


Cardiff & Vale

 won by 70 runs

Cardiff batted first and had a great start with A. Sylvester and G. Powell putting on 107 for the first wicket. Gwent fought back however, despite dropping  several catches, with Sam Hope-Bell and Jack Turner both taking 2 wickets and Cardiff closed on 158-6.

Tight Cardiff bowling and fielding restricted Gwent to 88 all out with only Lewys Jones, Robert Clarke and David Clarke reaching double figures.

Best Performances: Lewys Jones 26, Robert Clarke 15, David Clarke, Sam Jack Turner 2-4, Hope-Bell 2-18





Match cancelled by opposition.